J.Cole’s “The Off Season” Album Review


Album cover of J.Cole’s “The Off-Season”

Patricia Jones, Editor

Rapper J.Cole dropped his new album “The Off-Season” on May 14, 2021. As a result of this, fans were very excited about him dropping it and the outcome. This is J.Cole’s sixth studio album and his first release of 2021.

The album consists of 12 tracks, approximately 39 minutes long. It has features from 21 Savage, Morray, Bas, Lily Baby, and 6LACK. According to Chart Data, the album is aiming for #1 debut on US albums with 280-310K units. Also, he is expected to have the largest sales week of the year, having only 12 songs. All tracks from the album are predicted to debut in the top 40 of the Hot 100. Track #9 “ i n t e r l u d e” is #8 on the Hot 100. Some other hit songs include “9 5 . s o u t h”, “a m a r i”, and “m y . l i f e (feat 21 Savage & Morray)”.

Only eight hours before the album’s release the rapper revealed the tracklist and producer list. The producers are Timbaland, Boi-1da, Dj Dahi, Jake One, Frank Dukes, Tae Beast, Maneesh, Wu10, Suzuki, Coleman, Tommy Parker, Mario Luciano, T-minus, and J.Cole himself. When Cole released the tracklist it didn’t mention any features so it was a great surprise to the fans! Also, the rapper has released a music video to the song “a m a r i”.

In my opinion, I think the album was really good. I was excited when I heard it and even more excited when I saw who the features were. Some of my favorite songs on the album are “a m a r i”, “p r i d e . i s . t h e . d e v i l”, and “ i n t e r l u d e”. also, I liked the music video he released, I hope there will be more music videos. Overall the album was great, definitely a hit album. I would recommend listening to it!

“The Off-Season” is streaming on all platforms!